Home Page

st thomas catholic primary

We serve god, when we work and play together

Academy Information

Bishop Patrick has decided that all Catholic schools in the diocese will convert to become academies.


Over 60% of the schools are already academies so over the course of the 2017/18 school year, the other 40% will prepare for conversion.


Below is a letter outling the basic information.  More details will follow in the autumn term and parents and other interesteed people will have the opportunity to express their views.

St Thomas' will become an academy on 1st September 2018 and will part of a large Catholic MAT of 25 primary and secondary schools.


Please keep the school and the leaders at the Diocesan Education Service in your prayers during this process.

As part of the convversion process, we are required to consult with stakeholders - parents, children, local schools etc.  Below is a letter explaining this process and how to take part.  There is also a separate document which contains some FAQs about the process and the outcome of academy conversion